Cheap Entertainment

Standard

This week was crazy. Worked late two nights, wrote my Lucky Life Editor contest finalist entry, and spent three much-needed nights in a row with friends. Tomorrow will be a day of rest-ish.

In the midst of this chaos, I am planning my sister-in-law’s baby shower. It’s turning out to be a significant expense so my “fun money” budget is basically obsolete this month. Instead of crying about it, I’m finding thrifty things to do, cheap entertainment one might say.

On Wednesday, I had the privilege of seeing a fine documentary, Miss Representation, at a local university for free! Thank you higher education! In a nutshell, the film shows how the media assigns value to women based on their youth, beauty, and sensuality, ultimately limiting their life outlook, potential, and career options. Whether you agree with this or not, it’s definitely food for thought. And, I’m definitely going to start scouring local publications and sites for more free movie screenings and events in my area. Why haven’t I done this til now?

Being the office party planner, I was also up late one night baking these amazing pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, courtesy of The Food Network. I brought them to my office for a post-work  happy hour in honor of a colleague’s birthday and they were a hit! I am actually still awake now because I am baking more… can’t get enough! These are a delightful autumn twist on a classic favorite and they are super easy to make. I think baking is another great source of entertainment I ought to tap into more often. Sure, you need to run out and buy a few ingredients, but you can spend time listening to music while you mix up a batter, and afterwards, you get to eat yummy treats! And do share – don’t let the goods go to your hips!

Last batch of cookies is beeping – bed time! Sleeping is also a delightfully free activity I love.

Leave a Reply

